Soft Surroundings Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Soft Surroundings.

Soft Surroundings Silk Comforter I

Chinese silk-filled, luxuriously soft, lightweight comforter with generous sizing keeps you comfortable in every season. And the shell is 100% silk too! An elegant alternative to down quilts, this comforter boasts hand-layered silk floss padding that doesn't shift. It contours directly to your body, preventing cold or hot spots. Adjusts precisely to your body temperature. Equally effective as a duvet. Hypoallergenic. View Benefits of Silk Fabric.
Average Customer Rating:
4.608 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(107 Reviews) 107
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (107 reviews)
5 stars
86
4 stars
10
3 stars
4
2 stars
4
1 star
3
96 out of 107(90%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Silk Comforter I
Review 1 for Silk Comforter I
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By 
fromTulsa
fromTulsa
Luxurious!
Date:August 10, 2009
I purchased this for myself and I am very pleased with my purchase. The softness is beyond description! I feel like a queen. It is very well made. I've looked carefully at the stitching and the quality of this comforter is exceptional. If you are debating whether or not to try this, I don't think you will be sorry. I know I'm glad I have it! I plan on taking very good care of it and hope to have it for many years.
22 of 22 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Silk Comforter I
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By 
fromAberdeen MD
fromAberdeen MD
Good for the long haul
Date:September 28, 2013
I replaced my down comforter with this silk comforter over a year ago. I had purposely purchased a higher end down comforter, hoping to avoid the shifting and shedding issues, but could not. The silk comforter keeps us warm, but not too warm, doesn't shift much inside the duvet (I just swap ends every 6 weeks), and does NOT shed! The level of dust in our bedroom has gone way down, along with the sneezing! We are very satisfied!
Review 3 for Silk Comforter I
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By 
Luxurious
Date:September 21, 2013
This comforter is so beautiful. It is light weight yet warm, and much nicer on your bed than a down comforter that requires a duvet. You can of course put a duvet on this comforter but it is too pretty to cover up. I love its silk feel. I am so happy I found this.
Review 4 for Silk Comforter I
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
By 
fromTexas
fromTexas
I loved it when I got it! But not after cleaning
Date:August 5, 2013
I have a top cleaners and it just got worse after the second and third cleaning. I use my cleaners because they treat all my fine things with special care and they do know how to clean silk!
I loved the weight of the comforter and l did not get hot but finally had to discord it.
I love everything I buy from you but this was disappointing.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Silk Comforter I
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By 
fromKirkland WA
fromKirkland WA
Great comforter but duvet cover challenged
Date:July 15, 2013
The comforter has a luxury feel and is the perfect weight for sleeping. The color is not very attractive and I wouldn't want it to be visible so I put it inside a cotton duvet cover and anchored the corners with safety pins. But the comforter is so silky, it slides around inside the duvet cover, and half of it is bunched up on one side or the other. I really don't know what more to do to keep it flat and full inside the duvet cover. Help?
Review 6 for Silk Comforter I
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
By 
fromCA
fromCA
Thin!
Date:July 8, 2013
I found this comforter to be much thinner than I expected. Very disappointing.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Silk Comforter I
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By 
fromLos Angeles
fromLos Angeles
Absolutely beautiful and soft
Date:April 20, 2013
I love this comforter- it is so so soft , so beautiful and not heavy at all. The softness is unreal!!!!
I truly give it a thumbs up.
Review 8 for Silk Comforter I
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By 
fromHarrisburg, PA
fromHarrisburg, PA
Never too late
Date:April 19, 2013
Every month I checked the catalog to be sure the comforter was still listed. I love it. It is very soft and light as a cloud. I bought the kingsize so that it drapes over the bed. Pull up the sheet and comforter and the bed is made after a restful night.
Review 9 for Silk Comforter I
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By 
fromHouston, TX
fromHouston, TX
Worth the Wait
Date:March 26, 2013
This purchase has been on my wish list for years - as long as I have been following Soft Surroundings.
I fiinally bought the twin duvet. The color is a soft cream. I notice some of the commenters have been disappointed because of color variations from light grey to pinkish or white or cream. I am not so particular. This is beautiful.
The texture is like a very heavenly soft velvet. Yes, it has fallen off the bed. This doesn't bother me either. However, it is so luxurious that I wonder why on earth have I not tried silk bed clothing before now.
It seems to be of very high quality and thickly woven. The fibers do not pull on the jagged skin of my hardworking hands.
The only unexpected characteristic of the duvet is that the filling is thinner than the picture - probably more like 1/2 inch. This could be just from being packaged. However the 1/2 inch of filling does not detract from the fact that it is warm enough. I did have to uncover on my 2nd night because of a hot flash.
I am so lovin' this silk duvet. I HIGHLY recommend it. Should Soft Surroundings keep this on their product offerings, I will be buying more and making purchases for close family members.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Silk Comforter I
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By 
fromSouthern Connecticut
fromSouthern Connecticut
Nice!
Date:March 7, 2013
Having researched for months on buying a silk comforter, I finally took the plunge & picked up a twin silk comforter from Soft Surroundings. My decision was based on another purchase I had made from S.S. last year; a silk throw. That came in a luxuriant charmeuse silk cover & the color was exquisite, (a soft ocean blue-green color). I have enjoyed this throw so much, however, I wanted one larger to wrap up in.
I bought the twin size & was pleased to discover it actually fit well over my full size bed, with a little hanging over each side. So sizing is generous.
I was a little disappointed that the cover was not the beautiful charmeuse I had hoped for. It appears to be more like a habutai silk - still silky soft, but not that high end look or feel that I found in the throw. 100% Mulberry silk-covered, silk filled comforters can be quite an expensive purchase. I took a gamble & purchased this one and although on the pricey side, it was not as exorbitantly priced as some of the high-end ones elsewhere.
To note, I did get a pleasant surprise when running my fingers over this comforter. I was really wondering if in fact, the inside was silk as it claimed to be. I actually found a few cocoon like bumps of silk inside the comforter. I could actually work it through the cover to unwind the bound silk threads. So from that, I am pretty convinced this is the real deal. However, I do not know if the filling is Mulberry silk, which is reported to be the best. Other sites selling silk comforters sometimes offer an access to the inside filling, for one to inspect. This comforter does not have that advantage. (It would be an added incentive to buy, I think).
However, I am pleased. It is so lovely & light to curl up in and although for me, I wouldn't say it's a perfect temperature regulator, it certainly is close. It has become a wonderful, comfort to me at the end of my long days. So nice!
(Final note - I have not cleaned it yet, so I can not comment as to how it holds up.) But I plan on having a specialist handle the cleaning. It's an investment one should look after. I have encased it in a 300ct cotton cover to protect it. But I leave the top opened as I love to pull the silk up against my face when snuggling down for the night.
I give this a 4 out of 5 rating. Not perfect, but reasonable. I would suggest that Soft Surroundings be more clear as to the actual quality/type of fill and cover. Not to just quote this comforter as 'silk', but rather, to divulge, onsite, as to what type of silk and what weight for the fill, as do many other sites offer. I appreciate being given the straight facts as a consumer, so I can make an informed & confident decision, rather than having to take an anxious leap of faith based on a past purchase.
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Silk Comforter I
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By 
fromTexas
fromTexas
This is the best comforter I've ever had!!
Date:March 2, 2013
I love for our bed to be comfortable, and I have spent lot's of money making our bed our little piece of Heaven. I have all kinds of expensive down comforters and blankets, but this silk comforter is my favorite by far!! I love it!! It feels so comfortable and light on you, like a cloud. It's hard to describe besides that. You need to feel it to believe it, but trust me you will love it! It's also very reasonably priced! Thank you Soft Surroundings for making such a wonderful comforter!!
Review 12 for Silk Comforter I
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By 
fromSan Jose, CA tenth largest city in the USA
fromSan Jose, CA tenth largest city in the USA
Silk Comforter
Date:February 28, 2013
I saw these comforters being made in China when I visited in 2006. I purchased one there for my youngest grandson who was in utero at the time. I was somewhat disappointed that on very cold nights I have had to also add a cover to keep warm but in the middle of the night I am tossing the cover off as I am so warm. I would highly recommend this quilt.
Review 13 for Silk Comforter I
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By 
fromCoeur d Alene Idaho
fromCoeur d Alene Idaho
The perfect comforter
Date:February 17, 2013
This is so luxurious. I only sleep on a tight fitting polyester sheet, and this silk comforter.. It's like sleeping on a cloud. You won't be disappointing. Well worth the price.
Review 14 for Silk Comforter I
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By 
fromArlington, Virginia
fromArlington, Virginia
Silk Comforter
Date:February 8, 2013
I love my silk comforter. It is wonderful.
Review 15 for Silk Comforter I
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
By 
fromTX
fromTX
Not what i expected
Date:January 10, 2013
I returned the comforter. The silk fibers semmed like spider webs when they touch you. I was also quite hot with it& I thought silk was supposed to be cool.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Silk Comforter I
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By 
fromMuskegon, Michigan
fromMuskegon, Michigan
Luxurious!
Date:December 29, 2012
I LOVE my new silk comforter! It is sooo soft and comfortable! It does help with the hot flashes and my husband says he "sleeps like a baby"! I hardly wake up at all like I did before. It is a little thin though so I had to add a blanket on top but we have some cold nights in Michigan. I do have to warn those who have dogs that like to snuggle on it--it can snag easily so I plan to cover the majority of it with a cover to keep it protected. This is an investment after all! I plan to sew a cover up to about a foot short of the top so I can still feel the softness of the silk. Buy it! You will love it!
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Silk Comforter I
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By 
fromFairfield, CT
fromFairfield, CT
beyond expectations
Date:November 16, 2012
I saw this and waited a week or two before I decided to buy it. I very rarely leave reviews...unless I am really disappointed or thrilled. This comforter is amazing. It super soft. Like others, I wish there was some other color options and it is definitely not the color pictured. But by reading previous reviews, I expected this.
Buy this and you will NOT be disappointed!
Review 18 for Silk Comforter I
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By 
fromMichigan
fromMichigan
Luxury and Comfort
Date:November 8, 2012
I love this comforter. It feels so soft and silky it is a treat getting into bed each night.The size is generous ,it lays nicely on the bed and seems to be well made. I would give it 5 stars except I have not had it long enought to judge the durability; for the price it should last several years.
Review 19 for Silk Comforter I
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By 
fromTryon, NC
fromTryon, NC
Just got a second one!!
Date:August 25, 2012
I baught this comforter about two or three years ago, and am now getting a second one for my summer home. Just can't sleep with anything else now. Works well in summer and winter. Just can't beat it as far as temperature control goes. I do wish it was offered in a darker color though.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Silk Comforter I
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By 
fromOrange County, CA
fromOrange County, CA
silky soft
Date:July 25, 2012
My mother who suffers from dementia and Parkinson's disease is on hospice. As a child, we had one special blanket in the house, and my mother said we loved it because it was made of silk. What a delight to find this one. My mother, has found comfort from it's feathery weight and silky touch.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 >>