Soft Surroundings Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Soft Surroundings.

Soft Surroundings Belgique Tapestry Coverlet

Traditional Belgian tapestry patterns have inspired artisans for centuries. Here, an earthy Jacobean pattern in shades of coral, jade, rose, mint and gold play on a rich field of midnight black. Unlined coverlet is woven of soft cotton yarn. Coverlet is generously sized to adapt to deeper mattresses. Special Pricing Queen - $344.95   $298.95. King - $378.95   $328.95.
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(22 Reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (22 reviews)
5 stars
16
4 stars
2
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
0
20 out of 22(91%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Belgique Tapestry Coverlet
Review 1 for Belgique Tapestry Coverlet
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By 
fromSan Bernardino, Ca.
fromSan Bernardino, Ca.
Tapestry coverlet
Date:April 4, 2009
I bough it for a gift for my dauther in law, as a thank you present for taking care of me after major surgery. She just loves it to death and would buy again......
4 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Belgique Tapestry Coverlet
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By 
fromKnoxville, TN
fromKnoxville, TN
So Very Pleased
Date:January 22, 2014
Today I received my Tapestry bedding set and rushed to put it on our bed. It is truly GORGEOUS!!! The King size comforter was extremly generous in size, and the antique blue bed skirt and curtains are breath taking in our room. I did however add to my order a Euro Sham, since I had only ordered two standard shams for our bed it really needed a third since it is a king bed. My husband loves it as well. No complaints what so ever.
Review 3 for Belgique Tapestry Coverlet
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By 
fromBoston
fromBoston
Heartbroken
Date:December 31, 2013
I bought this a year or.maybe two ago. Absolutely loved it and got many compliments. Our apartment is warm, so it is a bit heavy to sleep under, but it's rich and unique.
Last year at seasons end, I dropped it off at the dry cleaners, picked it up, and put it in storage. When I took it out this fall, I was pleased to note that it felt softer to the touch, but was then horrified to find that it had shrunk! It doesn't look shrunk up like a wool sweater would, it's just about 6" smaller all around and looks lousy with the sheets and blanket hanging lower. It didn't even fade, just got smaller. I also have five shams, so imagine the investment I have in this set. Tearfully, I will look for a friend with a full size bed. So very, very sad!!
 
My Product Recommendations
Athena Bedcap
4.4 out of 5(14)
 
 
 
 
 
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Belgique Tapestry Coverlet
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By 
fromCA
fromCA
Great purchase
Date:October 22, 2013
I bought this several years ago for the master bedroom in another home. It is lovely and of the finest quality, and still looks brand new.
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Belgique Tapestry Coverlet
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By 
fromMineral, VA
fromMineral, VA
Beautiful tapestry!
Date:October 15, 2013
The colors are vibrant, the material substantial, the embroidery is well done, evenly spaced, crisp and clear, and the overall 'look' is exactly what I was hoping for.
However, I originally purchased the queen size cover for a queen sized bed tho I usually buy a king sized coverlet because I like the coverlet to hang lower on the bed frame. The product description stated the queen size was 'generously sized to accommodate the new pillow top mattress sizes ...' I was quite disappointed to find the queen size coverlet was not 'generously sized' but was, in fact, somewhat smaller than what I have had before with queen sized toppers. In addition, it appeared to be almost square, not really rectangular in shape at all. I found it impossible to spread it out on the queen sized bed so that it looked as I felt it should; it barely touched the edges if the mattress which is only 8" deep, as are the box springs. The coverlet simply looked 'too small' to be pretty. I called Soft Surroundings and ordered the king sized coverlet ... It truly is 'generously sized'!! It hangs down almost to the floor on both sides of the bed but it does have the overall look I was hoping to achieve. I would not bother with a bed skirt however, as the king size cover on a queen size mattress & box springs covers the bed almost to the floor on both sides.
I also ordered the standard size pillow shams and am pleased with the size & quality of those items. They match the coverlet perfectly and, overall, make a stunning presentation especially because the head of the bed is against a wall painted a brushed gold color so the colors in the tapestry print show well against the gold wall. Perfection!
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Belgique Tapestry Coverlet
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By 
fromFt Myers, FL
fromFt Myers, FL
If you are fragrance sensitive, Beware!
Date:December 30, 2010
When this product arrived, I immediately took it out of the package to place it on my bed to see how it looked. It was heavily fragranced but I thought that it would go away. Left for several hours and when I arrived back, the room was permeated by this fragrance. It made my husband and I sick....we had to completely strip the bed and place the coverlet outside for two days to get rid of the cloyingly sweet smell. So if you have a tendency to be allergic to fragrances, beware! This is a strong one!!!!
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Belgique Tapestry Coverlet
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By 
fromtarzana california
fromtarzana california
Lovely gift to myself
Date:December 11, 2010
Love it. Good looking and good quality.
Review 8 for Belgique Tapestry Coverlet
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By 
fromCollierville, TN
fromCollierville, TN
Coverlet
Date:October 25, 2010
I read the reviews and I purchased the coverlet. The color is bright and it fits my pillow top mattress, in fact it comes down the side several inches over the bed skirt. It arrived when they said it would. What more can you ask for! Love it.
Review 9 for Belgique Tapestry Coverlet
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By 
fromIdaho
fromIdaho
Couldn't be happier
Date:October 21, 2010
The coverlet I purchased is gorgeous . Everything I had hoped it would be ! The colors and weave are beautiful and fits my thicker mattress . And as usual the service was excellent ! Debra
Review 10 for Belgique Tapestry Coverlet
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By 
fromOhio/Chapala, Mexico
fromOhio/Chapala, Mexico
Great purchase!!!
Date:February 21, 2010
We bought this set for our 100+ year old Mexican villa and it gets RAVE reviews from all who see it. Absolutely a room maker. The only "bad" thing I can say is that the king coverlet is a little skimpy -- I wish it were 1 -2 feet wider and longer. Still absolutely gorgeous!
Review 11 for Belgique Tapestry Coverlet
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By 
fromNorthern Maine
fromNorthern Maine
Disappointed
Date:November 25, 2009
I was disappointed with the comforter. Although I know what a tapestry looks like, the catalog photo was deceiving. In the catalog it appeared bright and velvety. On the bed it looked faded - like an antique comforter that had been washed several times. The weight and fit was good, I just wasn't happy with the colors. I returned it."
Review 12 for Belgique Tapestry Coverlet
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
By 
fromMontana
fromMontana
Just ok
Date:October 29, 2009
I was a little disappointed with the comforter. Was not as bright as the picture. On the bed it looked more like an antique comforter that had been washed several times. It was a nice weight though, I just wasn't happy with the colors. I returned it.
Review 13 for Belgique Tapestry Coverlet
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By 
fromCorona, CA
fromCorona, CA
Beautiful
Date:December 29, 2008
I love this set but I am having to return it because our new bedroom set is dark brown and it just doesn't go. I am so sad.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Belgique Tapestry Coverlet
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By 
fromAlbuquerque, NM
fromAlbuquerque, NM
Gorgeous
Date:October 31, 2008
I would recommend this set to anyone. It is wonderful fabric. Warm and oh so beautiful...no one I know has a set like this! Superb.
Review 15 for Belgique Tapestry Coverlet
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By 
fromMinneapolis MN
fromMinneapolis MN
Lovely and substantial
Date:October 27, 2008
All I hoped for!
Review 16 for Belgique Tapestry Coverlet
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By 
fromMinnesota
fromMinnesota
Back for seconds!
Date:October 22, 2008
This is the 2nd time I've purchased this item! The first was for our queen bed. When we upgraded to a king, I called Soft Surroundings to see if they might be able to get it for me again even though it was no longer in the catalog or online. At the time I was told no and so had been making due with a queen throw on a king bed. I was absolutely delighted to see it in the new catalog. It is generous in size, looks great and doesn't fade and is beautiful!
Review 17 for Belgique Tapestry Coverlet
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By 
fromIndianapolis, IN
fromIndianapolis, IN
Not quite what I expected
Date:February 5, 2008
I have admired this coverlet for some time. Finally got up the courage to order it. When it came, I was a little disappointed. The workmanship and design was beautiful. However, the coverlet was so heavy! It was all I could do to lift it out of the box, and spread it out on the bed. I knew as a daily routine, I would grow tired of wrestling with it. So I was forced to send it back. I do still love the look though.
Review 18 for Belgique Tapestry Coverlet
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By 
fromDayton, TN
fromDayton, TN
Worth every penny!!
Date:December 31, 2007
Newly married ~ both of us from fully furnished homes, the new husband does not understand the "need" for new linens. I finally decided my wish is my command and ordered it. Great news...HE loves it also!
I highly recommend this coverlet! The bed looks so neat, it has a nice drape, just the right weight to use with or without blankets. We LOVE IT!!
Best of all, no one else has it!! I'm getting many oohs and aahs from family and friends!
Review 19 for Belgique Tapestry Coverlet
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By 
fromVancouver, WA
fromVancouver, WA
Finally Happy
Date:November 17, 2007
I've wanted this set for ever. Finally, I ordered a swatch and loved it. Most spreads or comforters are just too hot for me. This is 100% cotton, light weight, oversized, beautiful and just perfect. It is so beautiful, I smile everytime I walk into the bedroom.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Belgique Tapestry Coverlet
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By 
fromTexas
fromTexas
Beauty at its finest!
Date:November 9, 2007
The coverlet is just as lovely and elegant as I had expected. I love it, and receive many nice comments.
1 2 >>