Soft Surroundings Ratings and Reviews

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Soft Surroundings.

Soft Surroundings Women's Silk Velvet Robe

Indulge yourself in a glamorous robe - yards and yards of shimmering, frosted rayon/silk velvet, inspired by the Golden Age of Hollywood. A set-in back waistband defines the shape, with silk-lined ties extending from the side seams. Tonal silk piping outlines the shawl collar and cuffs. On-seam pockets. A rare find. Women's 54" long.
Average Customer Rating:
3.25 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
2
4 out of 8(50%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Women's Silk Velvet Robe
Review 1 for Women's Silk Velvet Robe
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Runs Small
Runs Small
Runs Large
By 
fromDenver
fromDenver
Robe cut too short-waisted
Date:December 14, 2012
Loved the color, look, design of this robe but when it arrived was chagrined to find that it was cut too short in waist and length. Plenty big enough around the shoulders and in sleeve length, but the short waist and length makes it look cheap and ill fitting. Disappointing.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Women's Silk Velvet Robe
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By 
fromWest Oakland, CA
fromWest Oakland, CA
Joy to Me!
Date:December 6, 2012
Treat for myself for making it to 60... fabulous feel, drape, color (teal). Got the oriental jammies as well. Luxurious! You're worth it...!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Women's Silk Velvet Robe
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By 
fromMcLean, VA
fromMcLean, VA
Such a Disappointment
Date:January 29, 2012
I was a seamstress for decades, so knew what to expect with “silk velvet” and am not concerned about the “thinness” of the fabric that other reviewers have commented on. As a plus size, I don’t like bulky robes (e.g., terrycloth, chenille) and have been looking for a lightweight alternative for some time. I wasn’t disappointed in that respect. However, overall, I was very disappointed with this purchase. First, since it is only 21% silk (the rest is rayon), it is more accurately described as “rayon velvet,” a much cheaper fabric. (Now I understand why it’s washable.) Worse, except for the belt, this robe is unlined. Lighter-weight fabrics need to be lined in order to hang better, launder better, and last longer (the lining adds durability). I paid full price for this garment: $179 plus shipping. Since it’s so difficult to find lightweight, plus-size robes, I will keep it, but I feel foolish having spent so much money on such an inferior product. This company needs to improve the descriptions of its garments.
9 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Women's Silk Velvet Robe
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By 
fromSouthern California
fromSouthern California
So Svelte!
Date:January 6, 2011
My husband boughtr this for me for Christmas. Of course I left hints all through the house, including the catalog page folded back in the library (bathroom). It just reminded me of something Jean Harlow would have slinked through the bedroom in. Or is it slunk. Whatever, it is gorgeous. Not quite warm enough to walk outside to exercise my dogs in, but beauty doesn't always have to be practical. It fits extremely well, or well sized as my grandma use to say. I just wear a sweat shirt underneath.
Thank you for the wonderful merchandise you have put out there for us ladies who really like to treat ourselves and of course have our special others gift us with as well. I will be back for more.
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Women's Silk Velvet Robe
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By 
fromcharleston, sc
fromcharleston, sc
great robe
Date:December 12, 2010
This feels as wonderful as it looks in the catalog. The length is great and the weight is perfect. I would happily recommend this robe to anyone!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Women's Silk Velvet Robe
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By 
fromLos Angeles, CA
fromLos Angeles, CA
Incredible robe
Date:December 9, 2010
This robe is just as beautiful as it is in the catalog. It is very slimming and has so many feminine touches. The material quality is first rate. I LOVE this robe. I have been so happy with every single purchase from Soft Surroundings.
Review 7 for Women's Silk Velvet Robe
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
By 
fromPittsburgh, PA
fromPittsburgh, PA
Robe more grey--then silver.
Date:December 9, 2010
I usually love all of surroundings clothing--but this robe may be good for petite smaller girls that want that 'bigger' look--I am a plus size--(3X)--and it just made me look like a big sack--I might need something a little more structured--but it looked so comfortable for a smaller size person--the color is more gray then silver--but nice soft material. I had to return this item....sorry.
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Women's Silk Velvet Robe
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By 
Not worth it
Date:December 5, 2010
The cost doesn't reflect the quality of the robe, I'd expect to pay, at most $50 for the robe I received, I'm very disappointed.
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Response from Soft Surroundings:By Soft SurroundingsDecember 7, 2010
Shelbell, we are very sorry to hear our Women’s Silk Velvet Robe did not meet your expectations. Our Merchandising and Technical Design teams strive to present high-quality, fashionable products that we believe our customers will love. Your feedback regarding the quality of this robe has been sent to them for review. A Customer Service representative will be contacting you shortly to see how we may make this right for you. We appreciate your business very much. Thank you for shopping at Soft Surroundings.