Soft Surroundings Ratings and Reviews

Product Reviews

Soft Surroundings Women's Tallulah Jacket

Feminine, fashionable touches soften this modern military jacket, like tonal embroidery on the sides and sleeves, longer curved back hem, and on-seam pockets. Antiqued brass buttons command attention front and center. An easy look, shaped to flatter in soft garment-washed cotton French terry. Women's 32" front, 36" back.
Average Customer Rating:
3 out of 5
3
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
3
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
4
7 out of 13(54%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Women's Tallulah Jacket
Review 1 for Women's Tallulah Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By 
fromBoston, MA
fromBoston, MA
Style and Comfort
Date:December 9, 2010
This is a great jacket----it wears like a sweatshirt but gives a sense of style---and very very flattering.
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Women's Tallulah Jacket
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
By 
fromRainbow City, Alabama
fromRainbow City, Alabama
Okay
Date:December 26, 2013
It is slightly tacky looking. Maybe if I had gone with black, it would have been better. The Navy is just tacky looking. But I am one of those people who never returns anything, so I kept it, and I will probably wear it with jeans.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Women's Tallulah Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By 
fromSanta Fe, NM
fromSanta Fe, NM
Fun and stylish
Date:October 10, 2013
I really love this jacket. I got it in blue and may order the gray too. It's not a high-end wool or suede coat but it's great to wear with jeans or slacks and definitely dresses them up a bit and gives me some style (which I need!). I love the look with the white shirt on the model, with the shirt cuffs and collar showing and I think I'll have to find a shirt to wear with it like that.
I think the jacket looks just like the photos and I'm not sure why some other reviewers found the photos were misleading. The description clearly states that it's a cotton French terry, and that's exactly what it is. I'm plus-sized, so I don't have that slender silhouette like the model in the photos but it's a flattering look even for me, tapered through the body with a flare at the bottom and the longer back.
The stitching is pretty and makes it look a little special.
It might be a little over-priced for terry, but I'd rather have it at that price than not have it and I'm happy with it.
To the reviewer who found that the button holes were too big, though I'd expect them to be correct from the factory at this price, if the holes are loose it's really easy to stitch them yourself to snug them up. I have not made that observation with my coat but if I do later, I will sew them closed a bit because I really like this coat.
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Women's Tallulah Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By 
Runs a little small for full figured gals
Date:December 14, 2012
I like it a lot. It is not flashy but with nice accessories it is very stylish while feeling like a sweatshirt...a thin sweatshirt. Heavier than a teashirt but thinner than a regular sweatshirt which is good because it doesn't get hot for all day wear. The styling and embroidery are upscale for sure.
About sizing, I find Soft Surround clothing on the small size for my full figure and this is not exception. I can wear a large or XL petite in other stores but the 1x was just right for this though a 2x might have been a little better. This cut is very flattering for the "egg shaped" figure. I ordered three sizes and am returning two.
Glad I ordered it!
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Women's Tallulah Jacket
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
By 
fromHouston, Tx
fromHouston, Tx
Disappointed again
Date:December 5, 2012
The color was not the rich grey I expected and the material was much more light weight than described. I was hoping for a fitted jacket not a knotted top. The button holes were so big that the jacket wouldn't stay closed. Under shirt definitely required
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Women's Tallulah Jacket
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By 
fromPittsburgh, PA
fromPittsburgh, PA
nothing like the picture
Date:January 24, 2012
The jacket appears like a brushed smoothe faux suede in the ad. When you see it in person, its cotton, thick and bulky and hangs nothing like it does in the picture. It is not worth the price and even seems kind of sloppy looking.
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Women's Tallulah Jacket
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By 
fromSunnyvale, CA
fromSunnyvale, CA
Fabric and Color ruins great design
Date:December 7, 2011
When I saw this in the catalog I thought the fabric would be heavy enough to wear at wintertime. Wrong. Not even warm enough for a California winter. The color is sad because the incredible embroidery on the sleeves and waistline is done in the same color and provides no contrast. What a missed opportunity. This jacket would have looked great in jeweltone velour with gold or white embroidery. The actual fit for a 1x is alittle loose and consiquently it doesn't hold it's shape. It's so dissappointing. It's definitely going back.
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Women's Tallulah Jacket
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By 
look great in catalog
Date:December 4, 2011
For the price it is way to cheaply made,also first wash and air dry ,does not agree to fabric.Lookslike a rag now
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Women's Tallulah Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By 
fromStratham, NH
fromStratham, NH
Loved The Style
Date:November 17, 2011
I loved the style of this jacket. Unfortunately it did not look great on me so I sent it back. If you have any sort of a thick waistline, this jacket is not for you. If you're slim, buy it. The details are beautiful although I wasn't crazy about the fabric. I wish it were more of a wool or jacket kind of fabric. It's more like a light sweatshirt fabric. I applaud Soft Surroundings for designing different and timeless style clothing.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Women's Tallulah Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By 
fromProspect Heights, IL
fromProspect Heights, IL
Flattering & Comfortable Design
Date:February 25, 2011
This is a really great jacket, the design is smart and the fit is perfect! I wish that the price matched. It's a little high for the material. But, I'm keeping it as I really do love the jacket.
Review 11 for Women's Tallulah Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By 
fromTexas
fromTexas
Lovely layer idea
Date:February 24, 2011
Perfect when you just want to run to the store or relax with friends and family!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Women's Tallulah Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By 
fromsaint louis mo
fromsaint louis mo
very stylish
Date:February 2, 2011
this jacket is great if you have a fanny and want to wear skinny jeans it looks great
Review 13 for Women's Tallulah Jacket
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By 
fromWashington, DC
fromWashington, DC
Jacket
Date:December 20, 2010
This jacket looked so beautiful in the catalog and on the internet but was totally unhappy when I received it. The fabric was awful, the color was awful. The buttons and button holes did not stay together when buttoned. The collor would not stand up or lay flat. It rolled over. Very much over priced. I wanted this jacket so bad for such a llong time but did not want to pay the price for it. I finally said to myself, buy the jacket it looks beautiful and when it came I did not like it at all. This needs to be made in Black or Red with different fabric, the style is awesome. I would buy again if remade.
13 of 13 found this review helpful.